









































































June 26, 2025

The Honorable María Elena Durazo Chair, Senate Local Government Committee State Capitol, Room 407 Sacramento, California 95814

RE: Assembly Bill 259 (Rubio) – Support [As Amended April 21, 2025] Hearing Date: July 2, 2025 – Senate Local Government Committee

Dear Senator Durazo:

The undersigned organizations write to express our support for Assembly Bill 259 (Rubio), which will preserve important teleconferencing procedures that have afforded public agency board members the flexibility to attend meetings they might have otherwise not been able to attend.

Recognizing the evolving landscape of public meetings and the demonstrated value of remote participation options when members of governing bodies are unable to attend a physical gathering, the Legislature passed Assembly Bill 2449 in 2022, which amended the Ralph M. Brown Act. Beginning in 2023, special districts and other local agencies began using the procedures established by AB 2449, successfully facilitating remote participation for officials that would otherwise been encumbered by illness, official travel, or medical emergency. The provisions of that bill, having been negotiated by civil society groups and local government stakeholders, contained numerous requirements, including the presence of an in-person quorum at the official meeting location.

While the provisions added by AB 2449 were modified slightly by technical amendments made by subsequent legislation, the January 1, 2026 sunset included in the original bill remains. To preserve the flexibility provided by AB 2449, Assembly Bill 259 would extend the sunset date on those provisions to January 1, 2030, thereby preserving the remote meeting procedures added by the earlier legislation. AB 259 would not otherwise change any other elements of the remote meeting provisions.

For these reasons, we the undersigned are proud to support Assembly Bill 259 (Rubio). Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Marcus Detwiler Legislative Representative

Marus Petwiler

California Special Districts Association

Matthew Litchfield General Manager

Three Valleys Municipal Water District

Sarah Bridge VP, Advocacy & Strategy

Association of California Healthcare Districts

Kim Pothschild

Kim Rothschild Executive Director California Association of Public Authorities for IHSS

Andrea Abergel
Director of Water
California Municipal Utilities Association

Kristine McCaffrey, P.E. General Manager Calleguas Municipal Water District

Steve Johnson General Manager Desert Water Agency Julia Hall

Julia Hall State Legislative Director Association of California Water Agencies

Ethan Nagler Legislative Representative California Association of Recreation & Park Districts

Eric Lawyer Legislative Advocate California State Association of Counties

Dane Hutchings Legislative Representative California Municipal Clerks Association

Michael Moore General Manager/CEO East Valley Water District Jac House R. E.

Joe Mouawad, P.E. General Manager Eastern Municipal Water District

Shiringi Deshmulh

Shivaji Deshmukh, P.E. General Manager Inland Empire Utilities Agency

David Pedersen General Manager Las Virgenes Municipal Water District

Paul E. Shoenberger, P.E. General Manager Mesa Water District

Jared Macias Administrative Officer Puente Basin Water Agency Jim Abercrombie General Manager El Dorado Irrigation District

Paul Cook General Manager Irvine Ranch Water District

mnée Pina

Johnnie Piña Legislative Affairs, Lobbyist League of California Cities

Deven Upadhyay General Manager Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Tom Coleman General Manager Rowland Water District Sarah Dukett
Policy Advocate

Rural County Representatives of California

Kandy Schrellerman

Miguel J. Guerrero, P.E. General Manager San Bernardino Municipal Water Department

rel IL

Randy Schoellerman
Executive Director
San Gabriel Basin Water Quality Authority

Luis Portillo President & CEO San Gabriel Valley Economic Partnership

Darin Kasamoto General Manager San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District Chris Lee General Manager Solano County Water Agency

Charles Wilson
Executive Director
Southern California Water Coalition

Thomas Love General Manager Upper San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District



High Tack

Jean Hurst Legislative Advocate Urban Counties of California

Stephan Tucker General Manager Water Replenishment District

Dennis LaMoreaux General Manager Palmdale Water District

Fred Jung Mayor City of Fullerton Sheryl L. Shaw, P.E. General Manager Walnut Valley Water District

Sheyl & Share

Craig D. Miller, P.E. General Manager Western Municipal Water District

James Lee General Manager Crescenta Valley Water District

CC: The Honorable Blanca Rubio
Members, Senate Local Government Committee
Jonathan Peterson, Principal Consultant, Senate Local Government Committee
Ryan Eisberg, Consultant, Senate Republican Caucus
Brady Borcherding, Deputy Legislative Secretary, Office of Governor Newsom